# Minutes of the ST MARY THE VIRGIN, SILCHESTER ANNUAL PAROCHIAL CHURCH MEETING Held on Sunday 23<sup>rd</sup> April 2023

The meeting opened at 11.45 a.m., immediately following the Vestry Meeting.

Clerk: Revd Steve McKay

Clerk: Mr Colin Hunt

**Present**: Mrs S Speight; Mrs V Picton; Mr R Eldridge; Mrs S Hunt; Mrs J Hughes; Mrs H Williams; Mr & Mrs R Fletcher; Mr M Jones; Mr & Mrs K Filkin; Mrs J Pearson; Ms H Evans; Mrs E Paddick Wilsdon; Mr J Barnett; Mrs E Baker; Revd C Pynn; Mr J Pynn; Mrs C Osborne; Mr & Mrs D Morgan; Mr & Mrs D Jones; Mr D Gibbons

# **Apologies** were received from:

Revd Rob Young; Mrs N Jones

The Chairman welcomed those attending the meeting. For the year just past, he thanked Revd Cathy Pynn and Revd Rob Young for their support to the activities and worship of St Mary the Virgin, noting that we expect to have continuing cause to be grateful to Revd Pynn for leading services.

### 1 Electoral Roll

Mrs Williams reported that the electoral roll for 2022 contained 91 names, 50 of these for people residing within Silchester Parish.

# 2 Minutes of the previous Annual Meeting

There were no comments or matters arising from the minutes of the APCM held on 24<sup>th</sup> April 2021. The minutes were approved by those attending the meeting, and a copy was signed by Revd Steve McKay.

# 3 Presentation of the Annual Report

Electronic copies had been circulated to PCC members earlier, with additional access via email distribution and a link to the website for St Mary the Virgin for all who might be interested. Hard copies were available in church on the day of the meeting.

Mr J Barnett pointed out an error in the report, on page 9, where the figure for matching funding should have been £400.00, not £40,000. There were no other comments on the content of the report.

Mr Hunt, the Parish Safeguarding and DBS Administrator, pointed out that the Report for 2022, for the first time, includes information about Safeguarding. Specifically, it is pointed out that there were no safeguarding concerns during the year, a fact that applies equally to previous years even though not stated in earlier Annual Reports.

### 5 Election of Officers

**Deanery Synod** representatives: 2023 sees the start of a new triennium, meaning that each parish must elect new representatives. Nomination forms had been completed for Mrs S Speight and Mr C Hunt. Since there were no other nominations for the two Synod places open to the parish, Mrs Speight and Mr Hunt were declared elected.

**PCC Membership**: Membership in 2022/2023 consisted of:

The Rector (designate), Revd S McKay (ex-officio) following the departure of Revd Canon Richard Harlow

Associate Priest for Silchester, Revd R Young (Chairman and ex-officio member, becoming a co-opted member after his retirement)

Churchwardens: Mrs S Speight and Mr R Eldridge (ex-officio members)

Deanery Synod Representatives: Mrs Speight and Mr Hunt (ex-officio members)

PCC Members: Mrs J Pearson, Ms H Evans ( elected April 2021); Mrs Filkin, Mrs Hughes, Mrs Williams and Mr Fletcher (all elected April 2022); Mrs Paddick Wilsdon,

Mrs Fletcher and Mrs Picton (all elected October 2020 and therefore now at the ends of their terms of office).

This gave a total of 14 (5 being ex-officio, 9 being elected or co-opted), which equals the allowed total. However, those elected in 2020, or co-opted only for one year, all reached the ends of their terms of office with the arrival of this Annual Meeting

The Secretary had received valid nomination forms for Mrs V Picton (proposed by Mrs S Speight, seconded by Mrs J Hughes), Mrs S Fletcher (proposed by Mr R Fletcher, seconded by Mrs E Paddick Wilsdon), and Mrs E Paddick Wilsdon (proposed by Mr R Fletcher, seconded by Mrs S Fletcher).

Since the number of candidates was equal to the number of vacancies, no election was needed. However, by a show of hands, those present at the meeting gave unanimous approval to the new PCC, which now looks like:

Membership in 2023/2024 consists of:

The Rector, Revd S McKay (ex-officio)

The Benefice Curate: Revd Knight (ex-officio after taking up office in July 2023)

The House for Duty Priest for Silchester (ex-officio, when appointed)

Churchwardens: Mrs J Hughes and Mr R Eldridge (ex-officio)

Deanery Synod Representatives: Mrs Speight and Mr Hunt (ex-officio, both until 2026)

PCC Members: Mrs Williams, Mrs Filkin and Mr Fletcher (all elected April 2022); Mrs Paddick Wilsdon, Mrs Fletcher and Mrs Picton (elected April 2023); Mrs Pearson and Ms Evans (elected April 2021)

This brings the strength up to a total of 15 (7 being ex-officio, 8 being elected).

# **6 Election of Sidesmen/women**: The following were proposed for the coming year:

Mrs E Baker; Mrs H Williams; Mrs K Hodge; Mrs A Withers; Mrs K Pratt; Mr & Mrs K Filkin; Mr & Mrs D Morgan; Mr & Mrs M Cole; Mr & Mrs C Hunt; Mrs C Osborne; Mr J Barnett; Mrs S Speight; Ms H Evans.

Those present at the meeting voted unanimously to appoint all of these.

### 7 Appointment of Independent Examiner

Mr R Eldridge, Treasurer, proposed the re-appointment of Mr Scott Broadhead for the coming year. This proposal was accepted unanimously.

### **8** Question from the Floor

Mrs C Osborne asked what is being done by the (C of E) church at large to engage young people in Christianity: is there a national strategy? In reply, Revd McKay said he is well aware of the national issue. Locally, he cited the robust Christian ethos of Silchester's C of E Primary School, and the welcome given by other schools in Tadley. He also mentioned the Easter Egg Hunt run by St Mary's, Tadley North, and the numbers attending Messy Church at St Paul's, Tadley South.

The meeting closed with a prayer at 12:05 p.m.